Creative Statement

The designer I researched about is Stephane Rolland. I decided to expand my interest of his work due to his 2012 Spring-Summer collection. The fabric he uses in his 2012 collection are elegant solid colors. He inspired me to create this dress form because the silhouette of his garments show a strong style of architecture but at the same time it’s plain. I used the simple color white and a hint of black around the waist line to depict the ruffle design of the dress. The movement is portrayed at the bottom of the dress. I intentionally designed it that way to draw the attention of the textural composition of the fused plastic bags hand stitched together. The side of the dress is slightly opened with button holeson each side that adjusts the form of the dress. I overall wanted to keep it simple yet have a distinctive bold look to it.

PhotoGrid_1366793985787

Leave a Reply

