Cultural Doll

Barbies are an object of uncritical devotion for many girls and parents around the world. I don’t want to categorize my doll into one specific religion, gender or style. This is a doll representation of a human who lives in a simple world with no judgements, no rules of what is the right or wrong way to dress or how physical appearance affects the daily life of any individual. Where everybody accepts everybody no matter their appearance, gender preference, race, salary etc. I started by using an empty olive oil glass bottle as a strong base foundation for the body. I didn’t want it to be perfect nor functional. I wanted it to be different than your average doll. Everything I utilized for this project were things I found around my house. Using scraps of fabric to fill up the negative spaces. It shows a depiction of the equilibrium of Yin & Yang. One cannot exist without the other because in reality they coexist. I intended my doll to be clear and obvious while hidden and subtle by only using black and white fabric just like the Yin & Yang elements.

20141125_02235920141124_231419-1        20141124_231307-1

PhotoGrid_1416938902619-1-1

Leave a Reply

